Dyspraxia & Me

I have suffered from Dyspraxia all my life since I can remember. It was a major thing when I was younger, but it doesn’t affect me as much as it used to.

What is Dyspraxia?

Dyspraxia (also known as a type of DCD / developmental coordination disorder) It’s a common disorder/disability that affects co-ordination mainly, it can also affect speech. It can cause the person to have it to perform worse than expected in tasks for their age, such as running about as a child. It’s thought to actually be four times more common to have as a male than a female.

Causes of Dyspraxia?

There is no known cause of Dyspraxia, or why people are born with it. However, with research advancing suggests that it could be due to “immaturity of neurone development in the brain” Things like being born prematurely, being born with a low weight can highly increase a child’s chance to develop dyspraxia.

Is there treatment for Dyspraxia?

No treatment can be used to remove dyspraxia, however, therapies can help you manage and cope with it, like new ways to do tasks which have proven to be difficult due to dyspraxia, and speech therapy if dyspraxia affects the speech.

How has it affected me?

Dyspraxia made my childhood hard, very hard. I was in a special school for children with disabilities up until year 3 (when I was 7/8 years old) The special school was merely to help me with school, as I found it very difficult to make friends, and being in a special school helped a lot, because there were trained people to help me with my struggles. I actually didn’t learn to walk until I was 6. It also affected my speech, I’ve had 13 (don’t quote me on that amount, might be more/less) years of speech therapy, it worked but I still sound like an absolute idiot. It made it hard making friends and even affects making friends now, even though I’m 18. I’m not sure if there’s a medical link to dyspraxia and anxiety, but the speech part has made my anxiety much worst.

As always, thanks for reading!

Liam

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dyspraxia & Me

  1. Life of Little Things says:

    My best friend has dyspraxia and it’s so poorly understood! This is a great piece to spread awareness:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alisha Ceit says:

    Such a personal post! Thanks for sharing and raising awareness 💛

    Like

Leave a Reply

