CBT: Second session.

I had my second session of CBT therapy today, it went better than last session. We didn’t really cover much more other than going into more detail about panic attacks and then going on about exposure therapy (which scares the heck out of me!)

Vicious cycle of panic:

This was the first thing we went through today, it’s basically a cycle of what happens when you panic, it goes trigger – thoughts/images – feelings – thoughts/images – behavior then repeats as the panic attack goes on. I related to this a lot as this is basically what happens to me. She also spoke about like me worrying about being in a panic attack, like I always think I’m going to throw up and I hate throwing up, but she went over how I’ve had a lot of panic attacks but only threw up once.

Positive self-statements

My therapist noticed my struggle with filling out some parts of my panic diary, especially the “answer to negative thought” column, but she said that was totally normal as I never really know what to say about my anxiety and panic attacks, so she gave me a list of stuff to say to myself, there’s preparation statements like “I might enjoy it if I go” “It’s not going to be as bad as I think”

Exposure therapy

We didn’t go through this in much detail, just because my therapist didn’t want me to worry about it. (too late!) She basically only said that it was happening next week, so stupid me researched it and made myself worry even more

 

Only a short blog post this one, sorry! I think the next session will make a long blog post… hopefully!

As always, thanks for reading!

Liam

This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CBT: Second session.

  1. Sounds like your second session went well. 😀 x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

