CBT: Fourth session

This post should have been posted this Wednesday, but I’m a bit behind… but I have no CBT next week so it should all even itself out!

This session was my first session after attempting to do exposure therapy, I didn’t do it very well, I was told to do 4 days of it, I only managed to do one. It was such a hard, big jump.I didn’t learn anything new this session, which felt weird, but it was good not to. We just went over how exposure therapy went, and what we could do to change that, and went over why it didn’t go to plan. As usual, I did fill out a PHQ-9 and GAD-7 form, like every single session. Depression went up, Anxiety went up. Not good.

Exposure therapy, and how the first week went.

This was the main topic of the session today. I was open about what I did, and I wasn’t going to hide from it. I didn’t do well in terms of what I should have done, but my therapist was still happy that I even did one day, to be honest, it is a step in the right direction, even though it’s a tiny step. As I explained in my blog post I did about my third session, which you can find here. I was planning on going the shops as a start of my exposure therapy. I told my therapist about how little exposure I did, and we discussed and came to a conclusion, that it was too big of a step, and it gave me more anxiety than I thought it would.

So, this week I am going to not go the shop, but walk to the shop, every other day for two weeks. Since my therapist is in training next week, I will not see her until the 15th, so this gives me time to get up the courage to do it. I’ll try my best.

We also talked about what happens after my 6th session, which has made me worry a lot, you’d probably know how much I’ve been worrying if you see my tweets from the past few days. I don’t think they will let me leave if I’m still struggling with my mental health, so I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

 

As always, thanks for reading!

Liam

 

 

This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CBT: Fourth session

  1. Sarah Gillie says:

    So brave. I hope that the new plan makes things easier. It sounds like a good idea. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

