Loving yourself.

This is something I personally struggle with, loving myself. Not so “loving” but having a good attitude towards yourself, not putting yourself down just because you can’t do something, being angry at yourself and so on. May it be during your recovery, the way you handle your mental health or anything. I lack motivation all the time and I tend to hate myself, hate myself for not going out, hate myself for not being able to push myself out, and hating myself for having so many problems mentally.

Self-care is so important and helps you to feel better about yourself. Prior to my relapse, I was doing so well with self-care. (I have a post on self-care if you want to read it’s here) Now, it’s literally gone through the window and all the good self-care I was doing is no longer. I really need to get back into the rhythm and routine of doing something to self-care every single day.

I have been struggling for motivation since the relapse, I’ve tried everything, absolutely everything. I can feel my motivation coming back, but extremely slowly which is annoying. I’ve recently been trying to find a hobby which helps me just release all my feelings/relax, and I’ve found fishing to be helpful for that!

BDD doesn’t help me with liking myself, due to me looking at my body in a different way to others, it just doesn’t help with confidence what so ever. I am trying ever so hard to beat it though, it is manageable and beatable with CBT and medication, which i’m currently on!

I was having a chat earlier last week with one of my best friends Laura (her twitter is here) and she is so supportive, whenever I’m struggling she always helps me and doesn’t take my shit and no for an answer! she knows that I need motivation and she has literally just given me so much motivation to carry on trying to beat my mental illnesses and to write this post too! It’s great if your struggling with getting motivation, it’s important that you have good people/people you like around you to help you with that, may it be a friend or even your parents or a family member! They can all help!

I’ve been struggling a lot recently with my mental health and I need to learn to “love myself” more. So, if you’re struggling to “love” yourself like I am. Just know that you can do it. I am learning to do it slowly, and so can you. It’s extremely hard but I can do it, and you can.

As always, thanks for reading!

Liam

This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Loving yourself.

  1. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    You know, it may help you to write down some positive affirmations. Things that you DO like about yourself and encouragement. It doesn’t take too much time and they can be really useful if you keep them in sight! I’ve been down that path of self-hate too. It was one of the main driving forces behind my SH. I’m much better now, not perfect, but good enough. Now I’m wondering if I should write a post about self love 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really struggling at the moment with self-love quite a lot and something I’ve been working on is as the commenter above said, saying positive daily affirmations about myself. I find I also like to find things I’m passionate about and focus on that, that way I have something productive to focus my energy on that lifts my spirits and makes me all around feel better.

    Julia // The Sunday Mode

    Like

Leave a Reply

